Dogs and Adoption

I lost my little dobergirl today.  When I came home yesterday, her leg was really swollen and she just couldn’t get comfortable.   She was still eating well; she’s always been food driven, but her quality of life was going downhill fast.  I took her to the vet and gave her lots of kisses while the vet slipped the needle in.

I think it’s harder, as an adoptee, to let go of those we love.   I’ve always been an animal advocate; had my own rescue group for 6 years.   Nothing hits me harder than to see a dog or cat out there on the streets, scared-hungry-alone.   In some way, conscious or not, we know what it’s like to be left.   Animals generally tend to be the safest relationship; they love without hesitation and won’t leave you willingly.

She was a great girl.  She was hypersensitive to my moods.   She never complained, even when she was in pain.  She was smart and loving.  I’ll miss her so.

~ by eunmi38 on June 9, 2007.

3 Responses to “Dogs and Adoption”

  1. I’m so sorry. It’s so horrible to lose a friend like that.

  2. 😦

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  3. I’m so sorry you lost your dog.

    It’s a hard hard thing, I know.

Leave a Reply

 
